Why sports goes to esports

81
NHL

In his column on the Dynamo Kyiv Esports official website, marketer Leon The Alien has estimated the increased movement of sports towards esports.

“Esports finally ceases to be something underground and incomprehensible to standard sports fans. Instead of competing, the current technological revolution literally collides esports and sports, creating a new reality. The reality which has been hard to imagine even a year ago.

The most advanced planet’s sports leagues begin to acquire esports units that bring something new both to sports and esports.

At that, the traditional sports simulators draw special attention. FIFA, NBA, NFL, NHL—all these simulators have found their own place in the big sports market. Traditional sports closely watches the esports’ development, which right before our eyes ceases being an alternative, turning instead into its integral part.

‘My prediction is that esports will be as big as the NHL in five years,’ Ted Leonsis, the NHL (Washington Capitals) and NBA (Washington Wizards) clubs’ owner, who also became a co-owner of the Team Liquid esports organization, said in an interview with the YES Network.

In the case of the NHL esports tournament, Leonsis focuses on the tournament’s integrity, so that ‘to make sure it goes fluent the first time, so they can have a second time.’ That’s what Leonsis said in an interview with ESPN.

For the human brain reacts to the world around us very simply, creating some somatic markers. Marketers actually have only one time to create positive emotional markers in the consumers’ brains. If you screw your first time up, there will be serious problems with the second time.

It is only in the case of a successful first time, that you can during your second time, by lowering a bit the bar, get a chance for the third time. But the first impression is too significant to ignore it.

While esports, particularly in the form of sports simulators, does not require significant investment (a separate emphasis is on the one-on-one matches), but brings to sports clubs fresh emotions and enables their employees to develop in a new direction. This must be used.

The number of e-athletes in teams and the mode of play is a separate serious issue. ESPN shared information that the NHL, when approving the format of its own e-hockey league, had interviewed 40 of the most active e-hockey players. Most of them voted for the 3-on-3 and even 6-on-6 formats.

Nevertheless, the league still stopped on a one-on-one format. In fact, there is no reason why, because of the players’ opinion, the league should take on additional costs and risks. Chris Golier, the NHL’s vice president of business development, has also found other reasons for that decision.

‘[The League] wanted to have everyone play and be eligible. Finding 3-on-3 and 6-on-6 teams was too cumbersome,’ Chris Golier commented to ESPN.

At the same time, the NHL is interested in creating a fully functional e-hockey ecosystem. Already in the first test season, there will proceed separate work on developing e-hockey players’ personal brands. Only for this, one can applaud the NHL.

For American leagues, the creation of esports units pursues, in general, an important goal of extending their tentacles to Europe. Once again. And, perhaps, this time everything may really come out. The audience is sufficiently globalized and skeptical about the sports that is traditional for its region, and consequently is ready (and craves) for something cool and new.

Clear rules, that is, a low entry threshold, have a positive effect on this. While playing the NFL (American football simulator) requires certain understanding of the rules, FIFA and the NHL are intuitively understandable. Therefore, FIFA is popular even among professional American athletes in other sports.

Thus, the NHL’s decision to organize individual competitions in Europe with a finale in Stockholm is quite logical. In particular, after the MLS has provided fierce competition for the league in the domestic market (at least, within the figure limits, as their target audiences are extremely different).

And let’s face it: the market can accommodate many, especially if it is subjected to development. In this respect, the European market has enough room for growth, especially comparing it with the American one. Attempts to take advantage of this in football bump up against the regulators represented by FIFA and UEFA, which are slowing down with their socialist power the desire of individual investors and entrepreneurs to wake the sleepy European market up.”

Почему спорт идет в киберспорт

245
NHL

Маркетолог Леон Зэ Алиен в своей колонке на официальном сайте Dynamo Kyiv Esports оценил усилившиеся движение спорта в киберспорт.

“Киберспорт окончательно перестает быть чем-то подпольным и непонятным для почитателей стандартного спорта. Вместо составления конкуренции, нынешняя технологическая революция буквально сталкивает киберспорт и спорт, образовывая новую реальность. Реальность, которую еще даже год назад было трудно представить.

Самые продвинутые спортивные лиги планеты начинают обзаводиться киберспортивными подразделениями, приносящими нечто новое как в спорт, так и в киберспорт.

Отдельное внимание обращают на себя именно симуляторы привычных видов спорта. FIFA, NBA, NFL, NHL — все эти симуляторы нашли собственное место на большом спортивном рынке. Привычный спорт внимательно наблюдает за развитием киберспорта, ведь на наших глазах он становится не альтернативой, а неотъемлемой его частью.

«Прогнозирую, что киберспорт догонит по размерам NHL в течение 5 лет», — сказал в интервью YES Network Тед Леонсис, владелец клубов NHL (Вашингтон Кэпиталз) и NBA (Вашингтон Уизардс), также ставший совладельцем киберспортивной организации Team Liquid.

В случае киберспортивного турнира NHL Леонсис делает акцент на проработанности, чтобы «убедиться, что все пойдет гладко в первый раз, таким образом обеспечив возможность второго раза». Именно так сказал Леонсис в интервью ESPN.

Потому что человеческий мозг реагирует на мир вокруг крайне просто, создавая соматические маркеры. У маркетологов фактически есть только один раз, чтобы создать позитивные эмоциональные маркеры в мозге потребителей. Если облажаться в первый раз, со вторым разом возникнут серьезные проблемы.

Это в случае удачного первого раза во второй раз можно, немного опустив планку, получить шанс на третий раз. Но первое впечатление слишком значимо, чтобы не воспользоваться им.

В то время, когда киберспорт, особенно в виде спортивных симуляторов, не требует значительных инвестиций (отдельный акцент на матчи вида один-на-один), однако при этом привносит в спортивные клубы свежие эмоции и возможность сотрудникам развиваться в новом направлении. Этим необходимо пользоваться.

Количество киберспортсменов в командах и режим игры — отдельный серьезный вопрос. В ESPN поделились информацией, что NHL при утверждении формата собственной киберхоккейной лиги провела интервью с 40 наиболее активными киберхоккеистами. Большинство из них высказалось за формат три-на-три и даже шесть-на-шесть.

Тем не менее лига все равно остановилась на формате один-на-один. По сути нет причин, почему из-за мнения игроков лига должна брать на себя дополнительные расходы и риски. Вице-президент NHL по развитию бизнеса Крис Гольер нашел и другие причины подобного решения.

«[Лига] хотела, чтобы все играли и имели право на участие. Поиск команд 3-на-3 и 6-на-6 был слишком громоздким», — сказал Крис Гольер в комментарии ESPN.

При этом NHL заинтересована в создании полноценной киберхоккейной экосистемы. Уже в первый тестовый сезон будет идти отдельная работа на развитие персональных брендов киберхоккеистов. Только за это можно поаплодировать NHL.

Вообще же для американских лиг создание киберспортивных подразделений носит важную цель: протянуть свои щупальца в Европу. В очередной раз. И, пожалуй, в нынешний раз все действительно может получиться. Аудитория достаточно глобализирована и скептична по отношению к привычному для своего региона спорту, что готова (и жаждет) чего-то крутого и нового.

Понятные правила, то есть низкий порог входа, положительно влияют на это. Если игра в симулятор американского футбола NFL требует наличия определенного понимания правил, FIFA и NHL интуитивно понятны. Поэтому FIFA пользуется популярностью даже среди профессиональных американских спортсменов в других видах спорта.

Решение NHL устроить отдельные соревнования в Европе с финалом в Стокгольме — вполне логично. В особенности после того, как MLS составила лиге мощную конкуренцию на внутреннем рынке (хотя бы в рамках цифр, ведь целевая аудитория у них предельно разная).

Да и будем смотреть правде в глаза: рынок способен вместить многих, особенно если его подвергать развитию. Европейский рынок в этом плане имеет достаточно места для роста, особенно сравнивая его с американским. Попытки воспользоваться этим в футболе упираются в регуляторов в лице ФИФА и УЕФА, своей социалистической мощью притормаживающие желание отдельных инвесторов и предпринимателей растормошить сонный европейский рынок”.