What the UPL can get from esports

52
upl esports

For his column on the Dynamo Kyiv Esports official website, marketer Leon The Alien has estimated the positive prospects of esports in Ukrainian football.

“While esports is rapidly evolving, the UPL stands at the crossroads: to continue its voyage to nowhere or to, finally, determine its movement vector, which will truly benefit all Ukrainian football.

Now, on the one hand there are empty stadiums and catastrophic attendance, while on the other—quite high TV broadcast ratings of the FC Dynamo Kyiv and Dynamo Kyiv Esports’s matches.

As we all know, traditional sports has a fairly mature audience. It can be hard to believe, but a significant part of the current Ukrainian football fans has grown up yet in the Soviet era. Which surely considerably influences the formation of interaction with this audience.

At the same time, esports allows to demonstrate forward movement to a potential younger audience.

1. Young audience. It was excessive “Sovietness” and “country style” that became most evident when Ukrainian football was forced to cut costs significantly. Once a perfectly adequate picture from matches and an atmosphere of pressure not only around the top games left Ukrainian football forever.

Even MLS, with its relatively young target audience, has taken the issue of creating its own esports league very seriously. And it’s not just about a young audience.

2. Emotions. What is being so passionately chased by marketers around the world is available in esports. It is fresh emotions, and not just a young audience, that can become the key to the UPL’s flowering.

For many years, moving forward and feeling of that has helped Ukrainian football to develop, until in the early 2010s the period of stagnation began. It was specifically stagnation, along with other problems, that led Ukrainian football to its current sad state.

While esports, along with real changes in the Ukrainian football itself, can create right emotions for resuming the old course of development. At the same time, not only esports itself will create new emotions, but increased competition as well.

3. The competition process. To date, in Ukrainian football there is Dynamo Kyiv with strong positions not only on the playing field, as well as there are to some extent weakened by the war Shakhtar and Zorya. The remaining clubs have to deal with so many problems that they simply cannot compete with the football clubs listed.

But relatively small for football e-football budgets, as well as the existence in Ukraine of a number of strong enough e-footballers, allow the weaker clubs manifest themselves by starting to compete with big-name rivals.

Moreover, club employees will be able to refresh their view of sports by catching new trends. This will lead to an approach to other aspects of clubs’ existence. It’s exactly what the fans are complaining about right now. And that is exactly what will be useful for Ukrainian clubs under any scenario.

Ukrainian football clubs start to go to esports after FC Dynamo Kyiv, which, together with CNP Esports, organized Dynamo Kyiv Esports in 2016. Of course, the Ukrainian e-football championship under the UPL’s auspices will greatly promote the development of both Ukrainian football and e-football.”

Что может получить УПЛ от киберспорта

82
УПЛ киберспорт

Маркетолог Леон Зэ Алиен для колонки на официальном сайте Dynamo Kyiv Esports оценил позитивные перспективы киберспорта в украинском футболе.

«Пока киберспорт стремительно развивается, УПЛ стоит на распутье: продолжить свое путешествие в никуда или наконец-то определиться с вектором движения, который будет по-настоящему служить во благо всего украинского футбола?

Сейчас с одной стороны — пустые стадионы и катастрофическая посещаемость, с другой — достаточно высокие рейтинги телетрансляций матчей ФК Динамо Киев и Dynamo Kyiv Esports.

Как известно, традиционный спорт имеет достаточно возрастную аудиторию. В это может быть сложно поверить, но значительная часть нынешних переживающих за украинский футбол успели повзрослеть еще при СССР. Что, конечно же, накладывает значительный отпечаток в формировании взаимодействия с данной аудиторией.

В то же время киберспорт позволяет продемонстрировать потенциальной более молодой аудитории движение вперед.

1. Молодая аудитория. Именно излишняя “советскость” и “сельскость” стала наиболее заметной, когда украинский футбол был вынужден существенно сократить расходы. Некогда вполне адекватная картинка с матчей и нагнетание атмосферы не только вокруг топ-игр исчезли с лица украинского футбола.

Даже MLS со своей сравнительно молодой целевой аудиторией крайне серьезно подошли к вопросу создания собственной киберспортивной лиги. И дело не только в одной лишь молодой аудитории.

2. Эмоции. То, за чем так страстно гоняются маркетологи по всему миру, доступно в киберспорте. Именно свежие эмоции, а не просто молодая аудитория могут стать ключом к расцвету УПЛ.

Движение вперед и ощущение этого помогали развиваться украинскому футболу долгие годы, пока в начале 2010-х не начался период стагнации. Конкретно стагнация вместе с другими проблемами привели украинский футбол к нынешнему безрадостному состоянию.

Киберспорт же вместе с реальными изменениями в самом украинском футболе способен создать “правильные” эмоции для становления на прежний путь развития. При этом создавать новые эмоции будет не только сам киберспорт, но и возросшая соревновательность.

3. Соревновательный процесс. На сегодняшний день в украинском футболе есть Динамо с сильными позициями не только на игровом поле, в какой-то степени есть ослабленные войной Шахтер и Заря. Оставшиеся клубы вынуждены бороться со столь многочисленными проблемами, что просто не могут составить спортивную конкуренцию перечисленным клубам.

Но небольшие для футбола бюджеты киберфутбола, а также наличие в Украине ряда достаточно сильных киберфутболистов делают возможным более слабым клубам заявить о себе, начав соперничать с именитыми соперниками.

Более того, сотрудники клубов сумеют “освежить” свой взгляд на спорт, уловив новые тенденции. Это потянет за собой подход к другим аспектам существования клубов. Именно то, на что сейчас жалуются болельщики. И именно то, что будет полезно украинским клубам при любых раскладах.

Украинские футбольные клубы начинают идти в киберспорт вслед за ФК Динамо Киев, который совместно с CNP Esports, организовал Dynamo Kyiv Esports в 2016 году. Конечно же, киберфутбольный чемпионат Украины под эгидой УПЛ станет весомым подспорьем как для развития украинского футбола, так и киберфутбола».